DPRK FlagDemocratic People's Republic of Korea

Usually called North Korea

The Democratic People's Republic of Korea came into existence after World War II. Just as happened to several countries in Eastern Europe, Korea was partitioned. Korea had been conquered by Imperial Japan in 1910. In the north, Korean nationals waged a guerilla war to harrass the occupying Japanese forces, with the support of the U.S.S.R. and to a lesser extent by the Chinese Communists. The American forces in the Pacific had no desire to have a communist country so close to occupied Japan. They moved into the southern portion of Korea to help "stabilize" the country after it became independent again. The United Nations agreed to a division of Korea into two parts along the 38th parallel. In 1950, the north Korean army crossed the demarcation line and invaded South Korea, aided by large numbers of Chinese forces. They were eventually pushed back and the ceasefire line re-established in 1953.

Stamps from the DPRK vary in quality from very primitive engravings printed on very poor paper to multi-coloured miniature works of art. The Korean alphabet is quite distinctive, and appears on all Korean stamps. Some of the stamps from North Korea carry the letters DPRK using European characters. All have the distinctive Korean characters. Stamps from South Korea usually have CH in European characters at the left hand end of a line of Korean characters, as well as a Yin-Yang symbol.

Stamps East is the online Canadian source for stamps and other philatelic items from the People's Republic of China (China, PRC), the Republic of China (Taiwan, ROC), and other stamp issuing jurisdictions in Asia particularly East Asia.